““Overall Winner” at the National Hospitality Awards for ‘Best Traditional Pub’.
“The Best Gastro Pub in Sligo” – Sunday Independent/ Restaurant Association IrelWalking into Hargadons it is like taking a step back in time as its delightful interior is almost the same as when it first opened. The present building situated at 4/5 O’Connell Street, Sligo was built in 1864 by Bernard Collery, a local merchant, who was also a member of Sligo Town Council and a member of Parliament representing Sligo. The businesses carried on included general grocery and the retail and wholesale of beer, wine and spirits based in the cellars and bonded warehouse at the rear of the building.
After Bernard Collery’s death in 1909 the property was acquired by Patrick & Thomas Hargadon who gave the property its name.
Acquired in 2006 by R. & E. Monahan as part of the development of the adjoining Johnston Court Shopping Mall, Hargadons has since been sensitively restored to its former glory while keeping its original architecture, fixtures and fittings, its ambience and atmosphere and Awards.